Am I Normal Yet?

So, let’s kick this off with a pretty amazing book that I read last year.Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne.

51rof09we3l-_sx326_bo1204203200_

I read this book in under 24 hours, I got it for free as part of World Book Night 2016 and wasn’t sure what to expect. However I was hooked from the first few pages.

Am I Normal Yet? is the first book in Holly Bourne’s Spinster Club series, which follows friends Evie, Amber and Lottie. The story is told from the point of view of Evie, a sixteen year old girl in recovery from OCD and Generalised Anxiety Disorder. All Evie wants is to be “normal”, just like everyone else she goes to college with. We watch her attempting to navigate family, friends, feminism, lessons and, of course, boys, alongside her recovery. Funny, sad, brutally honest and filled with hope this book accurately portrays what it is like to try to recover from a mental illness while also trying to live a “normal” life. It also shows Evie’s acceptance of her mental health issues as part of who she is, and not something she needs to hide.
This may have been my first time reading one of Holly Bourne’s books, but it will certainly not be my last!

5
5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

